Ottawa Bylaw threatens to kill protestors' pets

Updated: Nov 14


Sent: February 17, 2022 5:53 PM To: Jim.Watson@ottawa.ca Cc: info@ottawapolice.ca; Matt.Luloff@ottawa.ca; Laura.Dudas@ottawa.ca; Jan.Harder@ottawa.ca; K.N@ottawa.ca; Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca; Glen.Gower@ottawa.ca; BayWard@ottawa.ca; Rick.Chiarelli@ottawa.ca; Keith.Egli@ottawa.ca; Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca; Tim.Tierney@ottawa.ca; Mathieu.Fleury@ottawa.ca; rideaurockcliffeward@ottawa.ca; Catherine.Mckenney@ottawa.ca; Jeff.Leiper@ottawa.ca; Riley.Brockington@ottawa.ca; capitalward@ottawa.ca; Jean.Cloutier@ottawa.ca; Catherine.Kitts@ottawa.ca; George.Darouze@ottawa.ca; Scott.Moffatt@ottawa.ca; Carolanne.Meehan@ottawa.ca; Allan.Hubley@ottawa.ca; cy-ej@ombudsman.on.ca; christine.elliott@pc.ola.org; amy.fee@pc.ola.org; merrilee.fullerton@pc.ola.org; jane.mckenna@pc.ola.org; pierre.poilievre@parl.gc.ca; ccrtis-scictr@rcmp-grc.gc.ca Subject: Ottawa Bylaw threatens to kill protestors' pets


Mr. Watson,


I understand that, presumably at your direction, the City of Ottawa’s Bylaw Department is threatening to euthanize peaceful protestors’ pets should they be confiscated as a result of the protestors’ unlawful and unwarranted arrest. I’d like to express my disgust at the City’s dive into jackboot authoritarianism, and remind you that, when this situation resolves, you will all be accountable for your unlawful and grotesque actions.

Since you appear to be treating this current peaceful protest as a war situation, I’d like to remind you of some of the rules of the Geneva Convention, which prohibit such reprehensible behaviour as:

  • The taking of hostages;

  • Performing outrages upon dignity, including humiliating and degrading treatment; and

  • The destruction and appropriation of property not justified by military necessity and carried out unlawfully and wantonly.

I would argue that the City’s threat to steal and kill a member of one’s family applies to each of the above situations. That your office has stooped so low as to threaten to murder innocent lives in order to strong arm people to sacrifice their unalienable rights speaks volumes about your lack of compassion, moral compass and sense of fair play. At least you have given up all pretense that this is a situation about health and safety; thank you for admitting that the goal is to control and ruin peoples’ lives in order to please your fascist masters. Words fail me. I have never been so disgusted as I am at our current government, at all levels.


I’ve cc’d the Ottawa Police and the RCMP, in case they are interested in starting to defend innocent civilians instead of corrupt bureaucrats. Unfortunately, I don’t have high hopes that any of you are even capable of being decent human beings at this point; I’m still trying to figure out why any of you would want to live in a world without any morality or compassion, but I suppose that is going to be a question for historians who study this planned attack on Canada’s citizens. May karma be swift and vengeful.

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All