• The Rant

No to Emergencies Act

Updated: May 30


Sent: February 15, 2022 6:17 PM To: MargaretDawn.Anderson@sen.parl.gc.ca; salma.ataullahjan@sen.parl.gc.ca; denise.batters@sen.parl.gc.ca; diane.bellemare@sen.parl.gc.ca; WandaThomas.Bernard@sen.parl.gc.ca; doug.black@sen.parl.gc.ca; robert.black@sen.parl.gc.ca; Peter.Boehm@sen.parl.gc.ca; pierre-hugues.boisvenu@sen.parl.gc.ca; Gwen.Boniface@sen.parl.gc.ca; Patricia.Bovey@sen.parl.gc.ca; Yvonne.Boyer@sen.parl.gc.ca; Patrick.Brazeau@sen.parl.gc.ca; Bev.Busson@sen.parl.gc.ca; larry.campbell@sen.parl.gc.ca; claude.carignan@sen.parl.gc.ca; daniel.christmas@sen.parl.gc.ca; jane.cordy@sen.parl.gc.ca; Rene.Cormier@sen.parl.gc.ca; Brent.Cotter@sen.parl.gc.ca; Mary.Coyle@sen.parl.gc.ca; jean-guy.dagenais@sen.parl.gc.ca; PierreJ.Dalphond@sen.parl.gc.ca; Donna.Dasko@sen.parl.gc.ca; dennis.dawson@sen.parl.gc.ca; colin.deacon@sen.parl.gc.ca; Marty.Deacon@sen.parl.gc.ca; Tony.Dean@sen.parl.gc.ca; percy.downe@sen.parl.gc.ca; Pat.Duncan@sen.parl.gc.ca; Renee.Dupuis@sen.parl.gc.ca; Eric.Forest@sen.parl.gc.ca; Josee.Forest-Niesing@sen.parl.gc.ca; Brian.Francis@sen.parl.gc.ca; linda.frum@sen.parl.gc.ca; george.furey@sen.parl.gc.ca; Raymonde.Gagne@sen.parl.gc.ca; rosa.galvez@sen.parl.gc.ca; marc.gold@sen.parl.gc.ca; stephen.greene@sen.parl.gc.ca; Diane.Griffin@sen.parl.gc.ca; peter.harder@sen.parl.gc.ca; Nancy.Hartling@sen.parl.gc.ca; Leo.Housakos@sen.parl.gc.ca; mobina.jaffer@sen.parl.gc.ca; Judith.Keating@sen.parl.gc.ca; Marty.Klyne@sen.parl.gc.ca; Stanley.Kutcher@sen.parl.gc.ca; thanhhai.ngo@sen.parl.gc.ca; Marilou.McPhedran@sen.parl.gc.ca; Patti.LaBoucane-Benson@sen.parl.gc.ca; Frances.Lankin@sen.parl.gc.ca; Tony.Loffreda@sen.parl.gc.ca; carol.smith@sen.parl.gc.ca; senatorwhite@sen.parl.gc.ca; michael.macdonald@sen.parl.gc.ca; marie-francoise.megie@sen.parl.gc.ca; fabian.manning@sen.parl.gc.ca; elizabeth.marshall@sen.parl.gc.ca; martin@sen.parl.gc.ca; sabi.marwah@sen.parl.gc.ca; paul.massicotte@sen.parl.gc.ca; senator.oh@sen.parl.gc.ca; MaryJane.McCallum@sen.parl.gc.ca; terry.mercer@sen.parl.gc.ca; julie.miville-dechene@sen.parl.gc.ca; percy.mockler@sen.parl.gc.ca; Lucie.Moncion@sen.parl.gc.ca; Rosemary.Moodie@sen.parl.gc.ca; jim.munson@sen.parl.gc.ca; Ratna.Omidvar@sen.parl.gc.ca; Kim.Pate@sen.parl.gc.ca; dennis.patterson@sen.parl.gc.ca; Chantal.Petitclerc@sen.parl.gc.ca; don.plett@sen.parl.gc.ca; rosemay.poirier@sen.parl.gc.ca; Mohamed-iqbal.ravalia@sen.parl.gc.ca; David.Richards@sen.parl.gc.ca; pierrette.ringuette@sen.parl.gc.ca; raymonde.saint-germain@sen.parl.gc.ca; judith.seidman@sen.parl.gc.ca; Paula.Simons@sen.parl.gc.ca; larry.smith@sen.parl.gc.ca; SenatorStewartOlsen@sen.parl.gc.ca; scott.tannas@sen.parl.gc.ca; josee.verner@sen.parl.gc.ca; pamela.wallin@sen.parl.gc.ca; davidwells@sen.parl.gc.ca; Howard.Wetston@sen.parl.gc.ca; YuenPau.Woo@sen.parl.gc.ca; david.arnot@sen.parl.gc.ca; michele.audette@sen.parl.gc.ca; bernadette.clement@sen.parl.gc.ca; brian.francis@sen.parl.gc.ca; amina.gerba@sen.parl.gc.ca; clement.gignac@sen.parl.gc.ca; carol.smith@sen.parl.gc.ca; dennis.patterson@sen.parl.gc.ca; jim. <quinn@sen.parl.gc.ca>; karen.sorenson@sen.parl.gc.ca; senatorwhite@sen.parl.gc.ca; h.yussuff@sen.parl.gc.ca Cc: info@gg.ca; tracy.gray@parl.gc.ca; pierre.poilievre@parl.gc.ca; info@peoplespartyofcanada.ca; Jagmeet.singh@parl.gc.ca; Elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca; yves-francois.blanchet@parl.gc.ca Subject: No to Emergencies Act


Senators,


The last time I emailed you was last summer, when Mr. Trudeau and Mr. Guilbeault were unscrupulously trying to sneak in Bill C-10 prior to the summer break and praying you would all be too preoccupied to veto it. I was concerned about the unconstitutionality of a bill that would serve to quash free speech, and judging from several of your responses to my email, many of you were concerned as well. I am now writing to you to respectfully request that you vote “no” to Mr. Trudeau’s invocation of the Emergencies Act, which I am assuming will be passed to you at some point this week – although, now that I have reviewed the House of Commons calendar, I fear that Mr. Trudeau’s timing was quite deliberate: as you know, the House of Commons is adjourned next week with a public holiday on Monday which means this debacle may well last well over the required seven sitting days to present the matter.


My bigger concern, of course, is Mr. Trudeau’s blatant misuse and abuse of federal process in invoking an act meant to govern during times of true emergency, when the only “emergency” here is that a minority wannabe despot with a 16% public approval rating is having a tantrum because someone has finally stood up to him. As you all know, the current Freedom Convoy is a peaceful and lawful protest. No statues have been torn down and no churches have been burned. The Convoy speaks for many Canadians, including myself, who are sick and tired of our current government wholly failing to listen to the people, or to represent our wishes. As an unvaccinated Canadian, I have been barred from trains and planes for almost four months, with no end in sight. I continue to pay federal and local taxes for amenities that I am not allowed to access, and I continue to be insulted and smeared by Mr. Trudeau and crew, who have hurled such lovely pejoratives as “racist”, “misogynist” and “extremist” my way – not to mention accusing me of being part of an “anti-vaxxer mob” in the “small, fringe element in this country that is angry [and] that doesn’t believe in science”. Wow. It is hard to believe that Mr. Trudeau and I grew up at the same time, in the same country. We certainly didn’t grow up with the same values (and I can assure you I have never, ever dressed up in black face – not once, let alone four times).


I grew up in Calgary with immigrant parents who moved from South Africa to Canada to start a better life for their family. They chose Canada specifically because it wasn’t racist, it wasn’t misogynistic, and it wasn’t extremist. The Canada I grew up in was a middle class family’s dream: safe schools, friendly neighbours, an affordable university and many job opportunities for anyone willing to work hard and pursue a better life. I dutifully started my career in the oil patch before going to law school, getting married and moving to Kelowna to start a family farm. I have never been a member of a fringe group and, until last year when I chose not to accept Mr. Horgan’s gift of $100 to violate my bodily autonomy, I have never been part of a minority. My reasons for not being vaccinated are private; however, you can rest assured that I do believe in “the science” and I have spent many hundreds of hours over the past year learning about T-cells, vaccine efficacy, Phase 3 trial studies, vaccine adverse effects, gain of function research (and Mr. Fauci’s involvement in same) and, of course, the constitutionality of banning a certain group of people from society at the whim of one petulant oligarch.


Getting back to the issue at hand: Mr. Trudeau has not, and cannot, prove that there is an emergency sufficient to invoke the Emergencies Act. Indeed, all around him, premiers and public health officials are backing away from mandates as fast as they can (except, unfortunately for me, Dr. Henry, who seems intent on being the poster child for the definition of “insanity”) as they realize that “the science” has always been “the political science”. Data from around the world clearly show that vaccine programs have been an unmitigated failure in preventing the transmission of COVID-19, or preventing COVID-19 hospitalizations and deaths. The vaccine programs have been very effective in dividing families, ruining peoples’ financial futures and, of course, pushing suicide and drug addiction rates to all-time highs.


As you are aware, in order to invoke the Emergencies Act, Mr. Trudeau must prove a national emergency that is “urgent and critical [and] seriously endangers the lives, health or safety of Canadians and is of such proportions or nature as to exceed the capacity or authority of a province to deal with it”. There has been no evidence that the peaceful protestors have endangered the lives, health or safety of Canadians. If it is Mr. Trudeau’s argument that blockading borders has the effect of illegally preventing people from engaging in their livelihoods, or freedom to associate, then one’s only response can be that Mr. Trudeau should look in the mirror to see who is the most dangerous threat to the Canadian peoples’ livelihoods and Charter rights and freedoms – he has had no qualms in ruining small businesses, locking people in their houses and advocating for hatred and inciting violence for the past seven years. The second part of the test, that the province not have the capacity to deal with said emergency, has not been met either. The OPS and the RCMP are well staffed to deal with peaceful protestors; it would be a different situation, of course, if BLM had moved in and were spray painting and desecrating the veterans’ memorials. Ironically enough, last summer when BLM was setting fire to any structure that remotely resembled a house of worship (even those cared for and attended by the Indigenous, who they claim to support), Mr. Trudeau turned a blind eye and took a knee. If Mr. Trudeau’s constitutional violations aren’t Canada’s death knell, clearly his lack of self-awareness and hypocrisy will be. As an aside, Mr. Trudeau’s stated intention of starving the Convoy by illegally freezing and seizing assets is just another example of how he fails to understand, or share, Canadian values. He is truly turning Canada into a “basic” dictatorship with his “basic” incompetence and corruption.


I don’t have the time or the energy to get into all of Mr. Trudeau’s failings in this email. Suffice to say: Acuitas, Arbutus, Pfizer contracts, WE, SNC-Lavalin, Baylis Medical, Jody Wilson-Raybould, Catherine McKenna, WEF. I know I’m missing many conflicts of interest in this laundry list of Mr. Trudeau’s questionable acts. I implore you all to stop condoning his behaviour, stop normalizing political corruption and to start standing up for Canada: the Canada that we all grew up in, where the idea of the state quashing your ability to speak your mind, or dictating what you put into your body in exchange for the return of your unalienable rights, or the Prime Minister funneling hundreds of millions of dollars to members of his wedding party, were not only unheard of, but recognized for what they are: grotesque actions fitting of a fascist state.


I thank you for your service, and I pray you share my vision of Canada.

92 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All