Duty to provide a safe environment

Updated: Nov 17




Sent: January 14, 2022 1:28 PM To: 'Will Pearce' <WPearce@vernon.ca> Cc: Mayor <Mayor@vernon.ca>; Scott Anderson <SAnderson@vernon.ca>; Teresa Durning <TDurning@vernon.ca>; Kelly Fehr <KFehr@vernon.ca>; Kari Gares <KGares@vernon.ca>; Akbal Mund <AMund@vernon.ca>; Brian Quiring <BQuiring@vernon.ca>; news@castanet.net; Maria Doyle <MDoyle@vernon.ca> Subject: RE: "Duty to provide a safe environment"


Thank you for your response, I do appreciate it but am very concerned when our elected officials are deferring to our unelected officials, especially when based on your response it is clear that the City of Vernon hasn’t independently assessed the utility or legality of this mandate. Hopefully Bonnie “None Of This Is Based On Science” Henry will pay your legal bills should any of you be so unfortunate as to be sued on a personal basis for constitutional violations.


Have a lovely weekend,


From: Will Pearce <WPearce@vernon.ca> Sent: January 14, 2022 1:17 PM Cc: Mayor <Mayor@vernon.ca>; Scott Anderson <SAnderson@vernon.ca>; Teresa Durning <TDurning@vernon.ca>; Kelly Fehr <KFehr@vernon.ca>; Kari Gares <KGares@vernon.ca>; Akbal Mund <AMund@vernon.ca>; Brian Quiring <BQuiring@vernon.ca>; news@castanet.net; Maria Doyle <MDoyle@vernon.ca> Subject: Re: "Duty to provide a safe environment"


Thank you for your thoughts.


The City of Vernon follows the direction of the PHO and the Ministry of Health in protecting our staff and our clients.


Will Pearce.

Sent from my iPhone


Sent: January 14, 2022 1:06 PM To: wpearce@vernon.ca Cc: mayor@vernon.ca; sanderson@vernon.ca; tdurning@vernon.ca; kfehr@vernon.ca; kgares@vernon.ca; amund@vernon.ca; bquiring@vernon.ca; news@castanet.net Subject: "Duty to provide a safe environment"


Mr. Pearce,


I read your quote in Castanet this morning with interest, and would like you to please explain your statement that it is necessary to place unvaccinated staff on unpaid leave because the City has “a duty to provide a safe environment and . . . protect all city employees [and] those who enter city facilities”. Can you please comment, in light of the following facts:

  • The COVID-19 vaccines were never approved to prevent transmission of the COVID-19 virus and indeed, are not vaccines at all, but really just therapeutic treatments that are only intended to benefit the vaccinee;

  • The current statistics in BC show that the vast majority of cases and hospitalizations for COVID-19 are in the vaccinated;

  • The COVID-19 vaccines are largely ineffective in even reducing the symptoms of the Omicron and Delta variants;

  • The symptoms of the variant de jour, Omicron, cannot be distinguished from the common cold in most cases; and

  • The viral loads of the unvaccinated and vaccinated are similar, except that since studies out of the UK, Israel and Germany show that the vaccinated are twice as likely to carry the virus, they are more likely to spread it as well.

If you would like any documentation regarding the above statements, I am happy to provide. My concern is that, like many other organizations proclaiming their servitude to “science”, the City of Vernon is not actually taking into account current data. Assuming that at some point the world turns right-side-up, and common sense comes back into fashion, your organization, by failing to actually analyze the data, is exposing itself to lawsuits based on unlawful and baseless discrimination and, of course, ruining hundreds of lives in the process.

128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All