• The Rant

Children's Aid Society of Ottawa cites 'child welfare concerns'

Updated: May 30


Sent: February 9, 2022 5:07 PM To: 'yourcasquestion@casott.on.ca' <yourcasquestion@casott.on.ca> Cc: 'info@ottawapolice.ca' <info@ottawapolice.ca>; 'Jim.Watson@ottawa.ca' <Jim.Watson@ottawa.ca>; 'Matt.Luloff@ottawa.ca' <Matt.Luloff@ottawa.ca>; 'Laura.Dudas@ottawa.ca' <Laura.Dudas@ottawa.ca>; 'Jan.Harder@ottawa.ca' <Jan.Harder@ottawa.ca>; 'K.N@ottawa.ca' <K.N@ottawa.ca>; 'Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca' <Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca>; 'Glen.Gower@ottawa.ca' <Glen.Gower@ottawa.ca>; 'BayWard@ottawa.ca' <BayWard@ottawa.ca>; 'Rick.Chiarelli@ottawa.ca' <Rick.Chiarelli@ottawa.ca>; 'Keith.Egli@ottawa.ca' <Keith.Egli@ottawa.ca>; 'Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca' <Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca>; 'Tim.Tierney@ottawa.ca' <Tim.Tierney@ottawa.ca>; 'Mathieu.Fleury@ottawa.ca' <Mathieu.Fleury@ottawa.ca>; 'rideaurockcliffeward@ottawa.ca' <rideaurockcliffeward@ottawa.ca>; 'Catherine.Mckenney@ottawa.ca' <Catherine.Mckenney@ottawa.ca>; 'Jeff.Leiper@ottawa.ca' <Jeff.Leiper@ottawa.ca>; 'Riley.Brockington@ottawa.ca' <Riley.Brockington@ottawa.ca>; 'capitalward@ottawa.ca' <capitalward@ottawa.ca>; 'Jean.Cloutier@ottawa.ca' <Jean.Cloutier@ottawa.ca>; 'Catherine.Kitts@ottawa.ca' <Catherine.Kitts@ottawa.ca>; 'George.Darouze@ottawa.ca' <George.Darouze@ottawa.ca>; 'Scott.Moffatt@ottawa.ca' <Scott.Moffatt@ottawa.ca>; 'Carolanne.Meehan@ottawa.ca' <Carolanne.Meehan@ottawa.ca>; 'Allan.Hubley@ottawa.ca' <Allan.Hubley@ottawa.ca>; 'cy-ej@ombudsman.on.ca' <cy-ej@ombudsman.on.ca>; 'christine.elliott@pc.ola.org' <christine.elliott@pc.ola.org>; 'amy.fee@pc.ola.org' <amy.fee@pc.ola.org>; 'merrilee.fullerton@pc.ola.org' <merrilee.fullerton@pc.ola.org>; 'jane.mckenna@pc.ola.org' <jane.mckenna@pc.ola.org>; 'pierre.poilievre@parl.gc.ca' <pierre.poilievre@parl.gc.ca> Subject: Children's Aid Society of Ottawa cites 'child welfare concerns'


Dear Sir or Madam,


I read this article in The Week with interest, and had some questions for you:

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern that masking young children may have the effect of delaying them developmentally?

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern that locking up children by themselves (for “quarantine” purposes) is psychological torture?

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern that prohibiting children from in-class learning, and forcing even very young children, who are tactile in nature, to learn via Zoom and other remote learning platforms, constitutes cruelty?

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern about the increase in child abuse that has been caused by government COVID-19 mandates and lockdowns?

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern that children, who are not at risk of severe illness from COVID-19, are being vaccinated solely to protect older members of society in violation of the Hippocratic oath and national and international criminal codes?

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern that drug and alcohol abuse in minors has increased due to public health orders and governmental restrictions?

  • Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, can you please advise if the Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa has issued any statements addressing its concern that segregating children by vaccination status is discriminatory and psychologically detrimental to our youth?

I’m going to go out on a limb and assume that no such statements were made. Your pretense of being concerned for the safety of children in the Freedom Convoy 2022, when the Ottawa Police Service has admitted that its illegal actions in “enforcing” a peaceful protest constitute the only threat to these minors, is grotesque and disturbing. Yet again, another allegedly impartial organization has been hijacked and utilized by our government to violate its citizens’ Constitutional and Charter rights in the name of public health.


You should be ashamed to even be thinking of visiting these children for a welfare assessment. The truckers fighting for everyone’s freedom in Ottawa have brought their children because they only intend to exercise their lawful freedoms of expression and speech. They come in peace, with very legitimate questions of our government and it is disgusting that our cowardly Prime Minister appears to be intent on escalating this situation to the point of violence, instead of doing the right thing and sitting down with them. There is no evidence that the truckers are neglectful and abusive parents and, indeed, one could argue they are the best parents in Canada right now as they are leading by example, and modelling how democracy is supposed to work in a free society.


Perhaps, rather than acting as yet another level of government thuggery, you should focus on the children within Ottawa who are actually being neglected and abused – the internet tells me that 15-20% of children in the province’s care suffer injury or neglect, which is not exactly a testament to your organization’s ability to protect our youth.

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All